arrow-down audio close email facebook googleinstagram link quote triangle-downtriangle-uptwitter
checkmark facebook-circle star-six star twitter-circle website-circle

EDITORIAL BOARD QUESTIONNAIRES

Beatriz A. Frausto-Sandoval

Democratic candidate for Cook County Circuit (14th Subcircuit (Garcia Vacancy district)

Beatriz A. Frausto-Sandoval

Beatriz A. Frausto-Sandoval

Democratic candidate for Cook County Circuit (14th Subcircuit (Garcia Vacancy district)

Education
I earned my J.D. from DePaul University College of Law in 2005. I previously earned a B.A. from Washington University in St. Louis in English and Spanish in 2002.
Occupation
Attorney, Law Office of Beatriz A. Frausto-Sandoval
Home
Chicago
Past Political/Civic Experience
None.

Responses to our questions

Please submit an essay that explains your legal background, why you are qualified for this position and why you seek this position.

I am qualified to serve on the Circuit Court of Cook County in the 14th Judicial subcircuit because I have relevant experience and a base of legal knowledge upon which, with training and mentorship, I can expound to become a competent judge.

I have been a successful immigration lawyer for twelve years. I represent clients in a broad range of immigration matters before the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, the Executive Office for Immigration Review, the U.S. Department of State, and numerous U.S. consular posts worldwide. I have significant experience before the Chicago Immigration Court.

Aside from immigration law, I have substantial familiarity with criminal issues, especially within the context of non-citizens facing immigration consequences due to criminal convictions. I have also occasionally handled criminal, traffic, real estate, probate, and some labor-related matters. I have ample trial experience and a successful track record of keeping families together by defending individuals from removal and successfully obtaining immigration benefits on their behalf.

I have an excellent foundation of knowledge regarding civil and criminal procedure. I am well-equipped to effectively communicate with all manner of litigants as a judge. I have spent years developing relationships with the communities on the southwest side of the city, which is the heart of the 14th judicial subcircuit.

Not only have I served this subcircuit through my legal practice, volunteer work, and civic engagement, I have also lived in the subcircuit for over a decade. I also believe that I would be an excellent addition to the court because we need representation of people from varied socio-economic, cultural, and racial backgrounds and life experiences who can harness those experiences and combine them with their legal acumen to better serve the interests of justice.

It is important to me that in the 14th judicial subcircuit we have greater representation of women, people of color, and Latinas in particular. This is all the more important because there has never been a Latina judge nominated to the 14th judicial subcircuit.

It is also important that more attorneys with a good understanding of our complex immigration laws participate in the meting out of justice in a fair manner for all defendants, whether citizens or not. If nominated, I will faithfully execute the letter of the law with compassion and an understanding that the individuals appearing before me do not exist in a vacuum; they are affected by their circumstances, education, racial and social background and a host of other factors not directly at issue before me.

I hope that my career representing mostly working-class individuals and families will make me a better judge since I would bring a diverse perspective to the bench. I also have a unique perspective on the special situations involving noncitizens and their traversing of various legal systems. I hope to consistently and conscientiously take these important issues into consideration in my rulings and courtroom management.

Tell us something we would be surprised to learn about you.

I am the youngest in a family of nine children. I have six brothers and two sisters, all born to the same parents. My two oldest siblings, who are 15 and 14 years older than me, were born in Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico, prior to my family's immigration to the U.S. My siblings had a huge hand in raising me. Growing up we organized many fun activities as a family, such as Risk tournaments, water gun fights in our backyard, talent showcases in our living room, or softball games (we had enough people to cover both teams).

Candidates for Cook County Circuit (14th Subcircuit (Garcia Vacancy district)

DEMOCRATIC